CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A pair of pigeons on the rhus tree

I think these are a mating pair of pigeons. I spotted them on this old dead trunk of the rhus tree which I've left in the garden specifically as a perch for birds near the feeders.

These two pigeons have been appearing for the last week outside our kitchen window and seem to be preparing a nest in the climbing plant on our neighbour's house. The male, I assume, alights ona trellis near our window with a twig in its mouth and then flitas across to the neighbour's climber and disappears.

When I saw this view of them I couldn't resist snapping them in profile. Within a minute I saw the head of a woodpecker appear at the bottom of the trunk to the right. It hopped up in several small leaps and one of the pigeons flew away. By the time it neared the top of the trunk it wqas time for another picture which I've added as an 'Extra'. I was suprised that neither of the two birds became belligerent. The woodpecker seems to expect other birds to fly away when in close proximity. But the pigeon seem unperturbed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.