JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Garden wildlife

It was an overcast day and a bit windy for macro photography, and I didn't have much time to get outside, but within a few metres of the back door I found a good number of flies, beetles and bugs on various wild flowers (aka weeds), and they were mostly untroubled by my presence and allowed me plenty of time to try to focus on them. I'm not sure which of these two I prefer, the delicate winged hoverfly o the delicate, rumpled petals of the poppy or the bright, bold thick thighed flower beetle shining out on the buttercup, though technically both would have benefitted from more finely tuned editing than I currently have access to (despite a new year resolution). The quality of both looks markedly better viewed large.

I began the day feeling energetic and purposeful, and managed to accomplish quite a lot of (uninteresting) tasks before being overwhelmed by weariness late in the afternoon. Ticking items off from my list always feels good, and I enjoyed a bit more Virginia Woolf with my coffee - I'm finally reading To the Lighthouse, something over forty years after buying it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.