Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Evening Sails

First day of the initial two month regime and side effects kick in pretty quickly; I’m hoping things will improve as I get used to the drugs, but time will tell. I spend much of the day feeling nauseous with a horrible taste in my mouth. I’ve little energy for anything, and come close to remaining at home all day, but decide to try a trip to Llandudno in the evening. I’ve no idea whether I’ll manage to get that far, but having the top down in the car seems to prevent sickness and it’s good to be out. 

North Shore is bathed in evening light, sun dazzling on the water as a sailing session takes advantage of the weather. White sails glow golden, bright against the darkness of the backlit pier, much of the Orme now in shadow darkness  - blip sorted for today. 

Earlier, I have a phone call from the local hospital. My Liverpool consultant has contacted the local respiratory team who will provide community support, and I have an appointment for next Tuesday. They will monitor me, do my blood tests etc which will save me several trips to Liverpool. It’s also a very useful touch-base link. I find, for example, that I don’t have to take my tablets at 6.00am - it did seem bizarre - as long as I have them an hour before breakfast! 

And an update I completely forgot to mention: I’ve had an initial apology from my local hospital board for the urology and A&E fiasco - they will ‘investigate’; and a lovely letter from my MS (Member of Senedd - the Welsh Parliament) - who wishes to take up my case. I don’t suppose things will change much as a result, but it’s better than just sitting back and accepting things I suppose. 

Thanks so much again for all your good wishes and support - they mean a lot! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.