SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Caernarfon

Most of my childhood holidays were spent in North Wales, and I've hardly been back since I moved to Scotland in '87. I had grandparents near Llandudno, and Dad did volunteer work for the Ffestiniog Railway so we spent a lot of time in the Ffestiniog valley.

This weekend there are events to mark the centenary of the Welsh Highland Railway, so I thought I'd use it as an opportunity to visit. It's also slightly cathartic since mum died in January.

I'd planned to travel to Blaenau Ffestiniog and camp in the hills, but at 05:30 this morning Transport for Wales informed me that the train from Llandudno Junction to BF wasn't running. Hence I'm now in a bunkhouse in Caernarfon. Between trains, I walked from Llandudno Junction to Conwy, and had a quick spin around the familiar sights. I'd never been to Bangor, but had time there between a train and the bus to Caernarfon. I don't think I've missed much, even on a sunny day.

I took some photos (see extras) but the bunkhouse dog is the day's star!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.