pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The Zone

It is definitely going to be one of those weeks.

With the broadband still out, I had no option but to make my way into the office for some much-needed connectivity. There’s so much to do at present where I just need to sit and concentrate, but fortunately a lot of the team were in a meeting, so I ploughed on. I was amazed when it was 4pm and I could head back up the M6 for home.

It was a quick turnaround as The Youngest was deposited with her grandparents, leaving m’boy and I to grab some sandwiches and doughnuts as we headed back down the M6 for his latest cricket match. We listened to the Ashes as we munched and drove and talked about the game. With it being an away game, he was a little more nervous than usual.

It was quite an odd sensation watching m’boy’s cricket match whilst listening to Aggers commentate on the closing stages of the first test, and whilst ultimately m’boy’s team suffered the same fate as that of their national counterparts, I was bursting with pride as I watched him play.

His bowling was sublime - to my uneducated eye, it was like watching a professional - and he took three wickets in the process! He was handy with the bat too (getting two bites at the cherry because of low numbers) and on a number of occasions played a stunning cut shot he’d been working on to send the ball rolling off over the boundary line, which drew some admiring glances and applause from those watching on.

For me though it was his laser-like focus on the task in hand, which I was most impressed with. He was most definitely in “the zone”.

Brilliant evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.