JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Ringinglow sunset

I've been feeling pretty unfit since having Covid in April, followed closely by shingles. So as a small step in a better direction, I've started arranging a weekly swim - something I've let slip in recent years.  Today I went to Hathersage outdoor pool, a few miles from Sheffield. It's a wonderful pool, built in the 1930s.  You can swim while watching swallows and swifts swooping overhead.  And it is heated... so it is not a tough option. 
The short drive to Hathersage took me over Ringinglow road, over the moors. I saw some swathes of wild flowers on the way, including bog cotton - something I like to photograph when I can (see one of the extras; the other is an orchid).
So I went back in the evening, and found the whole scene lit up by a stunning sunset. I very much like the work of Jo Stephen, a photographer who has painstakingly photographed the meadows and woodlands near her home in Dorset. Sometimes she shoots into the light, as one way to create a soft effect.  I played around a bit with that idea, though I was also drawn to trying to represent heat and intense sunshine, with thoughts of climate over-heating in mind.
Jo Stephen's lovely work can be found here:
https://jostephen.photography/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.