eyesee

By davidc

Physician, Heal Thyself...?!

I wonder how often it happens that a retired medic requires treatment within their own previous specialty? It's probably not all that rare. Anyway I had an interesting afternoon. I'd arranged to see the consultant who replaced me some years ago on my retirement as retinal surgeon at the local eye clinic: I'd been noticing some momentary flashes of light in the corner of the vision of one eye for a few days. This symptom doesn't always lead to the identification of anything potentially troublesome but can mean a retinal tear is present, caused by shrinkage of the vitreous humour (usually age-related). Sometimes a retinal tear can lead to retinal detachment and I didn't want that. Anyway, yes there was a small retinal tear so I've now been at the receiving end of a form of laser treatment which over the years I must have administered to hundreds of my patients, to reduce the risk of a detachment happening. It was actually quite fascinating to find what it's really like for the patient - quite a dramatic laser-show experience!

Naturally as a blipper I've not let this prevent me from photographing our gorgeous shrub rose which welcomed us home from holiday on Monday with a profusion of these beautiful blooms. I hope Bikerbear enjoys seeing it when she looks through this week's Flower Friday entries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.