Blips by cb

By cbimages

How can you tell an old aviator?

By the verdigris on his (or her) Aviator sunglasses.  This old gentleman used to work for me, when last I had a senior job.  He was the Station Navigator, responsible for the stock of suitable maps, understanding flight plans for when the Tornados were heading off somewhere and being on top of the changes in rules for our flights around the place – among other tasks, of course.

Now he lives near me and is a member of the RAFA; he has also started up his own Morris Dancers, made up of dischuffed members of the Lyme Regis troupe.  We happened upon each other in Bridport and talked about old times before heading to the Ropemakers Arms and continuing.  His wife used to work with mine, before we were married.  It was a fun encounter for a sunny Friday afternoon.

In the Extra: I had visited Bridport to take some "street" photos, but this is all I managed before the encounter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.