Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Lavender

As my sister got to the airport last night, British Airways sent a notification that her flight was delayed by 2 hours. In the end it was delayed by 2.5 hours and as a result she missed her connecting flight back home to Durban. She got home 6 hours later than expected after hanging around airports waiting for flights. She just made it to see her daughter to wish her happy birthday before it was too late in the evening. It seems to be what one expects from British Airways today, they are always delaying or cancelling flights. 

The house seems really quiet without my sister here, I know she enjoyed her trip very much but it was as much fun for me to go on all these outings with her instead of my usual boring day at home. I felt quite sad today and was missing her. I also feel as if my summer is over as many of the summer 'treats' have now come and gone. I know I am being silly as we still have our holiday to SA in August to look forward to although it will be winter there.
 
We were thinking of going to Norfolk this weekend but I just felt like staying home as it has been a busy two weeks. Also, throughout the winter, our golf coach has been promising us group of ladies attending his golf clinic that during the summer he will take us out on the course and coach us as we play. He has now arranged a few dates to do so and today was the date that suited me best. We played a few holes from 4pm to 6pm, with him coaching us as we played and ensuring we practiced some bunker shots, chipping and pitching. It was great fun and a very useful session.
 
I have been following the reports in the media all week about the 5 people that were missing in the submersible that was destined to visit the wreck of the Titanic. We now know that the submersible likely exploded shortly after take off. I could not bear to think of those people trapped in that tiny space running out of oxygen, so in a way this ending is the lesser of two horrible outcomes.

Here is some lavender from my garden, it is a new plant to replace what died over the winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.