That Will Do!

By flumgummery

Cutting Edge Sewing

I had to dig into my Big Random Sewing Box for some elastic for a waistband - so annoying when built-in elastic fails.

So I guddled around and found, next to the needles I also wanted, some scissors, some of which are no longer in use. I set up a few of them for the blip, though I do have several more modern ones.

 I can't recall the precise origin of them all, apart from the Fiskars orange-handled, which are my regular scissors put in for scale and those top left, which have curved blades. These were the family nail scissors, with which my tiny nails were cut when I was a very little girl - so they are quite old - but they aren't strong enough for grown-up nails.

The others have appeared from my mother's and my mother-in-law's  sewing boxes, as I kept all their haberdashery when we emptied their respective houses. They were both keen needlewomen, typical of their generation, and I love keeping that connection with them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.