Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Town Quay

My fourth summer visit to Lymington.  I went in the grey morning, rather optimistically believing the forecast for hot hot sun - and was proved right!  The moment the sun came out was when I took this shot - the one before it is gloomy, then suddenly the world lit up.

These two babies, with Ma and Pa, were tucked in behind four bright blue canoes tethered on the Town Quay's main slipway.  They were surrounded by crowds of holiday-makers eating icecream and numerous dogs jumping about barking.  They didn't care a bit.

They are the only cygnets I've seen this year.

The extra was also taken from the Town Quay, but after my walk, not before.  If it was my main I'd have called it 'Disembarkation'.  I watched this pair getting into the rowboat from one of the pontoons.  The dog needed some gentle coaxing to jump in the boat, but the look of pride on his face as he was rowed across!  Then, of course, he had to be coaxed out.  It was a miniature pantomime I much enjoyed.

Coming home was the only disaster of the day.  Someone had been killed on a level crossing (whether by accident or on purpose is unknown) so the trains were completely up the Swannee, but here I am home at last, so phew!

Hope you've all had a fab day, lovely blipfriends  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.