OMP

By OMP

"Who am I?"

"I'm very tiny, just a 1/4 inch at best."

Edit: Seems we have hoverfly... not a bee at all... Thank you farmingemma! (I went back to my 496 page insect ID guide under flies and still couldn't find it. They seem to have skipped over this one or maybe just I'm blind...) ;)

Well, my Insect and Spiders of North America guide didn't have this little bee listed. I flipped through the pages to see if maybe it was something other than a bee, but came up empty. If anyone as an idea about the identification, I would be happy for the input.

Easier to see in large.

It was very windy and I didn't expect to get a good macro image, but I decided to take my camera to the garden anyway. At first I didn't see any bugs at all. So I started dead-heading the new flowers. (Can't have spent buds in an image now can we?) ;) When I got to the lilly I noticed a little movement and zeroed in on this tiny creature. I think it was hanging on to ride out the wind, because it remained in this position for quite some time. (Lucky me!) I just love this little guy's cartoonish face...

I also got a few other bugs that popped by while I was tending to the flowers - a flying ant having a drink and a fly who was upstaged by the flowers. I guess today was Tiny Bug Day... :) Happy Friday everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.