Marionb

By Marionb

The Boys of Summer...

Aha! And now there are three! Such handsome fellows! 

This makes me think that we do have more than one Mallard family around here..perhaps the other families have taken up residence in the little bays near us..? It is interesting to note how much they seem like us...the guys getting together for a chat to start their day...It made me think of all the male retirees I know who get together for coffee once a week at Tim Horton's! I wonder if the women have similar rituals..do they get together for lunch?  Will I soon see three female Mallards nibbling goodies under the bird feeders? I guess it is more complicated for them though, with the children and all..hmmmm

It has been another quiet day here..which is obvious in light of  the amount of time I spent watching ducks!  I did have some human contact though.. phone chats with my daughter and my sister..between sessions of  TV watching, of course.. First the Titan disaster and now the Russian crisis? What next? Would it be best to just not turn on the TV?  

I did, however, accomplish one concrete thing today. At last, I put the finishing touches on one of my photo books for France.. the one about our stay in Limoux. It is as ready as it ever will be to send off for printing. I always agonize over the text sections, going over each one several times, looking for spelling or grammatical errors - and inevitably I miss some!  I have not yet got a book back from the printer and not found some glaring error! How can that happen? No matter..I have declared it finished and will send it off.. and will now start working on the second book on the Aveyron. It is fun re-living vacations this way, but it does take a lot of time and effort to put the books together. And here, at the cottage, I do have the time, so best to take advantage of that...

Tomorrow may very well be an indoor day - with time to work on photo books......We have had a wildfire smoke alert this evening; smoke from the Quebec fires is expected to move into our area overnight... not something anyone wants to wake up to...but this seems to be the world we live in now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.