Almondblossom

By Almondblossom

Summer scent

The temperature reached 32c here today, it was a bit much. This evening is much cooler and breezy and I’m watching Glastonbury on the telly. There have been some fabulous acts over the weekend, my favourites being Gabriels, Tinariwen and Ezra Collective, also the strangely wonderful Rick Astley sings The Smiths, it was so good! And The Hu, a Mongolian folk/rock band, really interesting. Now Elton John is wowing a gigantic and ecstatic crowd.

Despite the heat today I decided to collect some soil improver from the local tip, which is handily near to a plant nursery. My best find there was in the dead zone where sickly plants go to end their days. I found two reasonable looking and sizeable Nicotiana sylvestris (£1 each) to replace some that perished last winter. I’m impressed that they are flowering on their first night in their new home! Their divine scent wafts all over the garden.
From the same corner I also picked up some Eryngium, lovely blue sea holly, £3 each. They’re all standing in various buckets of water overnight. It’s been a good gardening day.

In doggy news, Delilah has enjoyed her holiday although has struggled a bit in the heat. She’s gone home this evening and it’s very quiet without her, although she barely makes any sound, certainly never barks.

Thank you all for recent stars, hearts and words, I seem to be perpetually behind everyone else’s journals, one day I’ll catch up and stay caught up…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.