David J. Rose

By djrose007

Thought I'd got away with it!!

Back on the bike this afternoon to attend my annual check up at Southmead Hospital, Bristol, Renal Unit. This was a six monthly affair, after the kidney transplant, but after a couple of years it was moved out to annually. 
It involves a check on my weight (12st 6lb this morning, quite chuffed!), Urine and Blood checking and a discussion with one of the Renal consultants.
However, today it didn't quite go as it normally does. Nursey took my weight and then I was called into the consultant, a lovely man with a great sense of humour who laughed at some of the comments I'd scribbled in the margin of the health questionnaire. Probably thinks I'm bonkers!
So, at the end, thinking I wasn't going to have blood samples taken, I said "Thank you, and I got away with not going home with a ball of cotton wool on my arm". He was surprised I hadn't had the bloods taken so he printed out the three labels, one for each vial, and said to take a seat again. The Phlebotomist called me in after less than a minute, half an arm-full of blood, cotton wool ball taped on and out to get back on the bike to ride home, a round trip of 70 miles. It was nice to ride again so quickly  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.