nogbad's blips

By nogbad

Potato salad

Me yesterday sensibly made enough for me today to have some. It's Jersey Royals, spring onions and fresh mint with a dollop of Hellmann's. When I was a young chef, back before colour was invented, we used to make gallons of mayonnaise - literally. We'd crack a few trays of eggs for the yolks and set a 5-gallon drum of oil on a chair next to the mixer. A tap with a cleaver towards the base of the oil drum and it would dribble in at a nice slow rate. Chuck in some mustard powder and crank up the mixer. Then get on with something else. Abracadabra, the mixer would magically make 5 gallons (or so) of fresh mayonnaise. Nowadays trainee chefs are not taught how to make mayo, at college at least, because of Edwina Currie (or something). 

First day back at work after a week off - I'll let you guess what state my inbox is in, another reason I made sure that yesterday's cooling would cover today too.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.