Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Vineyards in the Valley

Today is the first day of winter here in New Zealand. The day dawned a little warmer than the frosty mornings of late.
I was up on the Wither Hills well before dawn and before I knew it I had spent well over two hours up there in the Park. Capturing the scenery and chatting with my "hill friends" occupied my time very nicely.
This image shows the view from the track looking to the north-west. The land spreads over the Wairau Valley to the Richmond Range and most of it is planted in grapes.
In the middle of the image, down towards the bottom, is a small vineyard that has been pruned already. If you look carefully you may be able to see the vineyard posts.
This is the vineyard I walk through with the dogs. It is also where I captured the image of the colourfully dressed Thai vineyard worker a couple of days ago.
The vast majority of the vineyards beyond this one, to the north-west, have not yet been pruned. Hence the now leafless vines look quite red in colour.
Further up in the picture is an area that is very pale and whitish looking. I think that is a newly established vineyard with all the posts visible.
I will record this view of the valley later in the year when the pruning has been finished and even later when "bud burst" begins. I find the whole seasonality of the vineyards quite fascinating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.