YORKSHIREBRED

By Yorkshirebred

Venice - day 6

Phew - some full on days so I'm afraid I'm getting a bit behind with posting! We walked to San Marco then decided to catch the vaporetto across to Guidecca.  Initially we got on one going the wrong way, so decided to get off just past the Arsenale. It was very rough and just as I got off the boat went down and the platform went up and I tripped and went full length! Hastily jumped up in embarrassment!  Slightly scraped and a couple of cuts on my hand, but not too much damage I thought. Later the bruising started to appear all down my left side and leg, and my leg swelled up.  Could be worse tomorrow!  Still, the next ferry was taken without incident and we went round the lovely church on Guidecca. Several art instillations in place.  The ones in the main body of the church were in a black pool of water which reflected the roof - impressive.  We went up the Campanile - very quiet for once and as always a great view.. Back down we went through another rather strange exhibition involving glass and lighting - It didn't work for me, but the next - a "meeting garden" was stunning, and a huge cat was keeping guard!  After wandering round for some time we went back across the canal to the Church on San Salute - the outside is being renovated.  Impressive gold altars and sacristy and huge doors dwarfing the tourists.  That done we moved on to the Peggy Guggenheim Exhibition.  Maybe I'm a Philistine, but a lot of modern art leaves me cold, I feel a child could do it, but there were certain pieces I liked liked such as the gold orb. Still, we gave it a good shot, and I did like the view through the metal window screens. We also bought a few items in the shop before going for a very late lunch on a lovely deck out over the water. Needed a bit of a siesta later!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.