photorat

By rat

Stepping stones

Holiday 9. Back blip
(If you've missed any of my rather haphazardly blipped holiday diary and would like to see them they start here, 9th june ).
As the legs were feeling fine after yesterday's hill walk we went for another this morning - though it was a lot shorter. It involved a short drive to the top of Hardknott Pass and a wander round the rocky tops of Hard Knott fell, with views down to the fort, Eskdale (extra), the steeple/needle and upper Eskdale, as well as further afield.
A visit to the fort on the way down, the Romans must have been a hardy lot.
In the afternoon I decided I'd try a run so went into the village and down to the church, then across the river and a short circuit back. We'd passed the stepping stones on Tuesday but decided to take the bridge as we didn't trust our legs, today I went over them. A bit later I realised I hadn't a pic of them so I did a short detour on the way back and took some, then a woman asked if I wanted my pic taken on then so this was the result.
We also visited the village shop and bought a book, some handmade soap (made on the premises an dsmelling of bog myrtle) and ice cream. 
Still hot but cloudier with a breeze on the hill, and the coolest day we'd had, I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.