Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Blue

Common Blue butterflies are fairly thin on the ground on my patch so it is always nice to see one. This female was in my favourite meadow by the woods, along with one male. See extras for an underwing shot.

I was out a bit later in the afternoon than usual having had some lunchtime meetings. I don’t know if that made a difference but the meadow was certainly livelier than it has been, with lots of dragonfly and butterfly activity. I took the advantage to do a proper count over 100x100m and came up with 49 Meadow Brown, 10 Large Skipper, 6 Ringlet, 3 Small Skipper (first for year), 2 Comma (first of summer brood), 2 Common Blue and 2 Speckled Wood. Comfortably the largest count of the year so far. I also saw a few Silver-Y moths and nice Latticed Heath (extra) which is one that I don’t come across often.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.