The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Sorbet for Afters

I was out on the razzle. Only a very select group. Selected by CR. He likes people that are even more boring than himself so that he can appear as the life and soul etc etc. Joking! I mean, he invited me.
Earlier I went to fetch the boat over to the pontoon as there were "one or two things" to fiddle with. Aren’t there always. As it was, I was pressed into water taxi services. First with Pete, then Tam and kids, then a new member and his uncle on a cat, and at that point the tide had dropped so much that I called it a day. And then I was hailed. Not as in Hail, Good King James. No! A couple in distress. I’d seen them struggling to get back to their mooring - no engine (an H-boat - a racing boat) with her lying full length on the foredeck. Eventually they’d done it. But their water boatman had gone off duty (members of the other crowd -yes, they employ people!). Jimbo to the rescue. What a scene - he was stressed to his eyeballs, the tide was drop drop dropping, his foresail had tangled, and his partner looked like she had expected a nice sail with a new boyfriend. Bright lippy, earrings, low cut top and flip-flops. I jested about what a relaxing pastime it is as I ferried them back, shaking.
Later, more drama as Sir Elton gave his farewell gig ever (though he slipped in a “maybe”, the old tart). And what about Rick Astley & the Blossoms sing the Smiths? Best covers band ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.