Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

African beauty

Well it's now 3.25 and it hasn't stopped raining all day. Half an hour ago the local forecast said it would stop in 3 minutes, now it says it will stop in 16 minutes. Why do they bother!

I've spent most of the day doing photographs - still at my London pictures from April. For some reason I love being able to identify all the locations in my photos, either by the use of Google Lens, or by Google Street view. I'm sure it's becoming obsessive, but I love it. At the same time I write a description of the route walked and a list with history of all the famous buildings or other places, which sometimes can take just as long trying to work out which way I went. I feel I'm getting to know some parts of London really well!

I wasn't planning to go out anywhere this afternoon, so a home Blip it has to be. Even with this one I had to get the waterproofs on to go out to the greenhouse and the deck.

This gorgeous little plant is one I've grown a number of times over the years, always in the greenhouses at work. It's a member of the Gesneriaceae, probably my favourite plant family, and is Streptocarpus saxorum, a native of Kenya and Tanzania. It seems to prefer a position in good light but away from bright sunshine, but won't tolerate any frost, of course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.