Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Australia comes to Oban

Wet again this morning, so getting on with titling more London pictures. I find it amazing that when I search on the Net for the story of some little building tucked away down a side street just what history comes up. I was looking up the Temple Church, the 'Round Church', between Fleet St and the river, and was astonished to find that it was built by the Knights Templar in the 12th century. It escaped damage in the Great Fire of London in 1666, but was very seriously wrecked by incendiary bombs in 1941, so it's had a great deal of restoration.

After lunch the rain stopped so I went out to do some gardening. I'd discovered a bag of runner bean seeds in the fridge, left over from last year, so sowed them a few weeks ago. Some plants were added to those I'd planted in the Walled Garden, but I've potted up the spares in tubs at home. I filled a third tub today and tied some tall canes to the deck fence - I don't think we'll be short of beans this year!

There's been a lot of talk on Facebook 'tree fern' pages in the last few weeks. I think a lot of people have lost them either over the winter or during the hot weather, but mine has done well. Last year's fronds ended up rather dried out so I cut them off - all the fronds in my Blip today are this year's growth. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.