Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Boats and birds

A dry start to the day, so mid-morning I decided to walk down town to take my back-up camera, a Panasonic Lumix, to the camera shop to ask them to have a look at a sticking lens cover. As it had begun drizzling on and off I put my waterproof on, so of course it stopped raining altogether and I was roasting!

When I got to the shop and tried the camera, for the first time in ages the lens protectors opened perfectly, so nothing needed to be done! I got them to clean the sensor of my Nikon instead, so hope that will cure the spots in the sky!

A huge cruise ship in today, so I walked to the War Memorial at the end of the Esplanade to get a picture, my Blip today. She's the 'Silver Moon', an Italian ship, en route from Southampton to Reykjavik. Not my idea of a holiday, but everyone to his own! 

On the way back I walked along the beach to watch the Black Guillemots. They nest in the holes and drainage tubes below the Esplanade and seem quite unafraid. They have the most amazing red legs and feet! 

When I'm writing this at 4.10pm it's raining again! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.