Winsford

By Winsford

Caora

Now in Ellenabeich in the Isle of Seil for three nights.

My great great grandmother whom I met was born and brought up here and this is the third time I visited, once as a child and then again 11 years ago.  The extra shows a row of houses where she lived -I'm looking forward to exploring other places near you where she and other family members lived and worked. 

An added interest this time is the realisation that she and her family as well as the wider community were all Gaelic speakers, sadly the last generation were this was the norm. 

Our drive over was enjoyable (despite the rain) - we stopped at Green Welly in Tyndrum for lunch and came via Glen Lonsn with a slight detour to Port Sonachan in order to visit places where my newly discovered great great grandfather's family came from.  

This sheep caught my eye on our walk back from supper which included oysters in the oyster bar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.