Teasel

By Teasel

Midge Ure

Lots to do this morning, including a supermarket trip to get some provisions for a picnic.  I decided to walk as it was such a lovely morning.  It was hot and I was very hot by the time I had walked home with my shopping – all the way up the hill.  The next job was to make the picnic, pack it up and get ready for our trip back to the 80’s!
 
TT and I, along with four other friends were whisked to Dalkeith Country Park, for an 80s music festival.  Not all the acts were from the 80s, but I did also notice it billed as a retro festival.
 
We arrived after the start time, and were able to walk straight in – the guys said that there had been massive queues earlier.  Our taxi had been late, so we missed the first act, who we heard was really good, but c’est la vie!  We parked our camping chairs, rolled out the picnic blanket and enjoyed an afternoon and evening in the sun, being entertained by bands/acts we could barely remember.  My favourites were Roland Gift (formerly of Fine Young Cannibals, Midge Ure (who did a great set wearing a polo neck jumper in the heat!!) and then the Human League.  I had been a bit sceptical about it all, but I had a thoroughly lovely time.  I had been in charge of organising the transport, and was a bit worried as to whether the taxi would appear to take us home – even though I had phoned them three times today.  Amazingly we found our taxi and he whisked us home. 
 
We were home before BB, who was out partying.  He came home very merry.  We watched a little bit of Glastonbury – but my bed was calling me.

You can just make out Midge Ure in this blip.  Roland Gift is in the extra.
 
 
 
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.