Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Still falls the rain ...

It has rained all day, though it's stopped now, stopped just too late in the evening for me to make any use of the splash of dry with which the day ended. The title for the blip comes from an excellent poem by Edith Sitwell which I only came across when a friend was discussing religion in poetry with my no.1 son when he was preparing to sit SYS English - and I'm glad to find it again now and have another look.

So what did I do, on this bleakly wet day? Well, I went to my painting class, where today I was the only pupil, meaning we talked a great deal while I reverted to what I have realised satisfies me most in trying to paint - small, detailed corners of landscapes/cityscapes/gardens taking care with perspective and colour and light. I've started a new one of a lovely little bit of the Italian city of Matera ...

After that, I didn't feel like going out just to get wet. This is fairly novel for me, but I'd only had sandals on in the morning and somehow my wet feet lurked in the background of decision-making ... and instead I read the paper, fell asleep, woke up again, and headed to the computer. I spent hours annotating all my Arran holiday photos on Flickr so that they'd make some sense in the group that I've already been invited to add them to - I can't be bothered with unexplained photos.

None of this, however, led me to taking more photos. And so it comes about that you're being treated to a collage of my hastily-assembled dinner: prawns, vegetables and udon noodles in a Pad Thai sauce, followed by an inspired dessert of one of my daughter-in-law's shortbread biscuits topped with yogurt (I don't do cream) and sour cherries in syrup, also a gift from the same source. Not too sweet, and utterly delicious. 

Himself has been having a 24 hour BP monitor which beeps every time it switches itself on to do its thing. He's to wear it till noon tomorrow. Should I find some earplugs before I go to bed?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.