Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Shaving Brushes

My hairdresser's salon is also her studio. She is also a wonderful conversationalist and a good hairdresser. I've always thought that if one has a good hairdresser, who needs a therapist? It is interesting that her paintings are almost all very small. She said the painting in this picture was the first picture she ever painted and her work has evolved into smaller and more detailed pieces with a sort of mid-century Palm Springs vibe. She had the shampoo sink taken out at the beginning of the Covid lockdown and replaced it with a desk where she paints. 

We were too busy talking about all and sundry things to discuss her paintings, but I noticed the collection of shaving brushes tucked onto a shelf above the restored shampoo bowl. I'm always interested in collections and artists always seem to have them. I love environments like this that seem to change and evolve over time but the little collections always anchor them to something...

John and I both commented that we think Spike's eyes are really bothering him. Whether we're just more attuned to it, or it is getting worse, it confirms for us the decision we have made for him. My logical self thinks it is absolutely the right thing to do, by my emotional self is having a hard time with it. The more time I have to think obsess about it, the more my rational mind is convincing the emotional one to calm down....

The sun came out of the clouds when we were still on the floor doing Pilates this morning and I sat on the porch eating lunch after my haircut, watching the resident squirrel acrobatics just a few feet away. John frequently runs out waving his arms like a madman and they do jump off and run up a tree, but are usually back by the time he gets back inside. 

I'm putting in extras a 'teaser' detail from the quilt I finished today. I'm tagging it for Tiny Tuesday although It may or may not qualify...I got so close to it that the texture of the fabric looks completely different...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.