Purple Aquilegia

Why I wonder do stinging nettles grow three feet in two weeks, when my Dahlias grow only three inches.

I thought I might go to the Strawberry Fair in Cambridge today, but when I woke up I had the beginnings of a migraine, something I rarely get these days. I decided to stay at home and after taking painkillers and eating breakfast I decided it was time to tackle some of the borders. Three and a half hours later, the migraine had not developed and I had tackled two smallish borders, but only removed stinging nettles.

Today's picture is of a purple Aquilegia, also know in the UK as Granny's Bonnet, which I knew was somewhere in the border; my pink ones are in another border, which I might tackle tomorrow, depending on the weather. I also discovered that I have a Solomon's Seal and a Peony growing where I had not seen them before. Some while ago my daughter dug up two huge ferns which were in the wrong place and which she did not want. Never one to miss an opportunity of free plants I planted the ferns along with a lot of ground elder! Today I noticed that I had also acquired these two other plants as well although until this year they had not shown themselves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.