Marking Time

By Libra

Bansky

While in Glasgow today we thought we would pop into GOMA (Gallery of Modern Art) to see the current Banksy exhibition.
 
No chance. 
 
The nearest I got to seeing a Banksy was this sign at the entrance.
 
When the exhibition first opened people started queuing at 4.30am.
 
The first hint I got that this was no ordinary exhibition was the long queue of people waiting to get in – and they all had tickets booked often weeks, if not months in advance. Then there were the security men monitoring people. All phones had to be put into special pouches then locked.
Lets say it’s a media feeding frenzy. 
 
In all my years of going to exhibitions I had never seen anything like it. 
 
Yes its good to see so many people interested in art but I really question the motives of both Bansky and the people caught up in this media storm. People are buying copies of his books for £25 but you are only allowed to buy one after you have visited the exhibition and paid £15 for a ticket. 
Now people are reselling them online for eye-watering sums.
One  £40 bundle  (book, poster, tote bag) is on offer for over £995.
 
I heard of one family travelled up from London with their children for 48 hours just to see the exhibition.
 
On the train back I amused myself by creating some Bansky images using AI. Here is one. See extra.  ( I am having difficulty uploading it...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.