Elegg

By Happyme

Busy day

I started early, up before 6am, to get over to Barry's parents. MIL had a hospital appointment and I was FiL sitting while she was gone. He is so pleased to be home after spending 3 months in hospital and respite care. Unfortunately, despite the carers who call 3 times a day, it is a lot of extra work for MiL who is doing all the running around, cooking and cleaning etc. once the carers have been and got him washed and dressed FiL doesn't leave his chair except to go to the bathroom until the evening carers gets him ready for bed. This is very tiring for MiL who is constantly either making food or drinks and fetching and carrying to him. I'm not sure how long she will be able to sustain this at 93! She really doesn't want them to give up their home for a nursing home. It's a difficult situation as he is obviously deteriorating and she finds that hard to watch too. I felt quite sad to leave them and wished I lived just a bit closer so I could call in more often. Getting really old is not much fun.
I finished my day with the GBSB which always makes me smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.