analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Coordinating History. Leitz Summicron 35mm V4

Cousin Crispin25 and I decided a few days ago to coordinate our Blips.  We have discovered before that there are artifacts in our respective families which share a common history.  Our mothers were sisters, you see, and things have been passed down through the generations.  Here is a link to Crispin's Blip for today, a humble pine stool made by patients, some time in the late 1960s or early 1970s, working under supervision in an Occupational Therapy workshop at a psychiatric hospital in South Africa.  Since my uncle, Crispin's Dad, used to take me sometimes on his rounds to check up on patients, I visited that workshop on more than one occasion.  It was run by an older gentleman, Mr. Rothman, whom I remember as presiding over his fiefdom while wearing a khaki-colored lab coat.   Crispin gives a nice background about his Dad, - who was indeed an extraordinary person -, and how he came to have the stool.
My stool, from the same workshop, in my family since about 1972 or so, has worked hard its entire life, as the scars show, but the simple mortise and tenon joints are as tight now as the day the piece left Mr. Rothman's shop.  The stool has lived in my woodworking shop for decades since it followed me here to Boston, and currently serves as an extra work surface when I've managed to cover everything else.  The two jointer planes reside right there on the stretchers, so I thought I'd include them. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.