Once Upon a Time

Once upon a time these were a common sight along the roads of Britain, I seem to recall the RAC had blue ones, though they were maybe a little less frequent. Like busses I imagine they were never around when needed. There are certainly very few around now.

I was very surprised to see this AA box years ago when I first spotted it. Today, several years later I was able to stop and have a look. Much to my surprise the door was unlocked and inside there was a mini museum of photographs and a visitors book, which I duly signed.

I discovered this AA Box has its own web site which shows the history of the refurbishment of the Box in 2009. I think I have seen one or two others around. This one is on the A93 at Cambus O' May, about four miles west of Ballater.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.