Marik_i

By Marik_i

An unusual day

The lockdown years left a mark on me. The isolation was so total and lasted so long that I feel insecure and confused when in the company of people outside of home. My new friend P is a savior. Unlike the grocery  delivery man or the nurses or even the pedicurist who all are in a hurry when they leave, my new friend is never in a hurry. She is focused on me, she stays as long as it is needed, and she is not in a hurry. Last Thursday she stayed for over two hours, longer than anyone for years. We walked - slowly - to the church, spent time with the kind and knowledgeable guide and learned a lot about the history of the church and the paintings on the walls.
When we walked home, we stopped at my hairdresser's and P stepped in as the door was open, and while chatting with the hairdresser, she set up an appointment for haircut for me - next Tuesday. I was just standing there. But now I am going to have my hair done!  Thanks to my new friend P.

This is very unusual, but feels very good. A real person. No text messages or emojis. A real friend with time for me. I am grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.