Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Belated birthday celebration

“Tougher than it looks!”

Six weeks after his birthday, I finally took Evan to the toy store to pick out his birthday gifts from me. He chose two frustrating challenging spatial relationship puzzles, one putting cats in boxes and the other helping a ship find hidden treasure. 

I missed his birthday party because I was away at the ocean, and I promised we would have one of our own. But then Sue and I took all three kids to Tacoma on the train. No private time.  In late May, he and his mom and sister flew to Los Angeles to see his dad and watch Guns ’N Roses rehearse. In June I stayed with Evan, Bella, and Felix, so we didn’t have time alone that week, and after that it was Bella’s turn for Baba Time. 

So finally, tonight, Evan and I had our celebration with new toys, pasta for dinner, ice cream for dessert, and watching a bit of Chimp Empire (exceptional nature documentary narrated by Mahershala Ali). No iPad, no computer games, just face-to-face time. It was splendid.

Tomorrow I’ll go out to see Margie again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.