Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Hat Fair Saturday

And of course, this year there's no hat Fair Sunday so this is it.

I don't usually blip pictures of kids but today I let myself because a) this little guy was a performer b) he was with his mum and dad who were also performing and c) the dance troupe came over from Bulgaria.  He danced the whole lot with great enthusiasm.  I've put a bit more of a portrait of him in Extras.

And why did I post in mono?  The traditional costumes were wonderfully colourful, but something to do with either the light or my eyesight just made the pictures look stronger in black and white.

To be honest, this hasn't been my favourite Hat Fair.  There was nothing wrong with the last two days, but the truth is that over the years it's lost something.  The anarchy perhaps.  Too many corporate fingers in the pie - and then ACE withdrawing so much funding can't have helped. 

Never mind, I got there and I had fun and tomorrow I'm off with the Butterfly Conservation group again, which I'm immensely looking forward too.

Hope the weekend's treating you well  xx

PS: The dancing troupe is called 'Samodeitsi'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.