The Way I See Things

By JDO

Lucky

I had a busy and productive day today: I cooked a batch of curry for the freezer, did some domestic accounts, filed a huge pile of paperwork, and (with R's help) cleaned up the filing system on my little Windows laptop. Smug? Well, maybe just a little.

For most of the morning I was encouraged to keep going with my indoor tasks by the fact that the light outside was dire, but after lunch it improved somewhat, so I took the R7 and went on a little bug hunt. And here is one of the little bugs I found: a tiny ruby-tailed wasp, about 2mm in length, that was scouring the buds of a yarrow head. No sudden movements!  I reminded myself fiercely as I crept towards it, but with hindsight maybe I should just have gone for it and homed right in: I only got five shots before it took off and dematerialised, never to be seen again, and this - the best-focused of the set - is still a pretty distant view, even after heroic cropping. Never mind. Even sighting a ruby-tailed wasp is a cause for celebration in my book, and getting a focused shot of one is enough to tip me into a Crash Bandicoot dance.

My yarrow patch gave up numerous different kinds of inverts today, from beetles through bees to moths - plus the nursery web of a Nursery Web Spider, which is the subject of tonight's second photo. I couldn't find the mother spider, though my books say that she will almost certainly have been there somewhere, guarding the web, but I think the little huddle of spiderlings is adorable. The egg sac from which they hatched is inside the web with them, but only faintly visible here through the yarrow stalks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.