tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Opportunism

I was walking the dog around the playing field next to my sons' old primary school while the kids worked out on the apparatus.
On one of the trees surrounding the field I noticed ripe cherries and in the space of about 10 minutes I filled two dog poo bags full to bursting. With cherries.

NOTE:: Many is the time I have used poo bags for random finds. I am utterly opposed to setting off equipped with fancy bags and baskets that only serve to advertise what you're up to. The best finds are serendipitous, like this one.
(I make an exception for hats though, they are indispensable.)

Well, anyway, have cherries = make clafoutis, which is what I did, but instead of baking it I accidentally switched on the grill not the oven and when I checked on the pud I found the top was  charred black.  What a disaster - no, wait a minute.... it's simply brûlé in the culinary sense of lightly scorched, and very delicious it turned out to be,  the flavour having been enhanced by including a slosh of son's cherry Grappa, made from fruit foraged in the streets and alleys of Manchester.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.