Colstro

By Colstro

Pride

Having finished the decorating, I rewarded myself with a day out in London.  It was the Pride Parade today, which I guessed would give plenty of opportunities for colourful photographs.

My blip isn't my favourite photograph of the day but does illustrate some aspects of the event very well.  I found myself on the front row behind the barriers on Piccadilly, not far from the start of the parade at Hyde Park Corner.  I was opposite a group of Christian religious protestors who were lecturing the passing parade telling them to repent and turn to God. The people on the parade reacted predictably, performing - sometimes outrageously - in front of the protestors.  Whichever side you tend to support, you had to admire the persistence of the protestors who continued their amplified sermon from before the start of the parade and throughout its duration - several hours.

Otherwise the event was very good natured and enormous fun - and observed by a huge crowd. (A protest by "Just Stop Oil" did cause an interruption to the procession, but didn't seem to upset the crowd.) I didn't stay to watch the performances on the various stages, including Trafalgar Square. I was pretty tired by the time I gave up my position after 3½ hours (and before the end of the procession) and didn't want to spend more time standing around.

I may post an album of some of my favourite images on Flickr if I get the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.