carliewired

By carliewired

81 F/ 27 C

The cool of the day
can be best enjoyed with my
camera - for sure!

~carliewired

I did manage to catch our Canada Day fireworks at dark last evening. My daughter and I sat on the deck looking out to the city. The display is set up near the confluence of the rivers so some viewers would see the reflections in the water. I spotted a light on top of Mt. Paul so someone must have been getting a bird's eye view of the fireworks. 

Today, I was out the door at 6 and heading for McArthur Island Park in search of marmots. 

I made the Butterfly Garden my first stop. The summer flowers are coming on strong. No ducklings or goslings are to be seen anywhere.  I got a shot of the foot bridge over the slough, then moved on to the south side of the park.

My mountains looked very majestic this morning as I got a shot of them looking across the playing fields. 

It was difficult to find marmots this morning. I had to walk along the Rivers Trail beside the river in hopes one would pop up. Eventually they did! I had a conversation with a walker who thought that the diminished number of marmots was due to a badger prowling the park. I had forgotten that someone had spotted a badger earlier this year. The marmots I found this morning were skittish and would dive for cover when something alarmed them. 

I got a view to the city across the river and another view down river to the west. Shorelines and sandbars are visible once again. Water levels are receding. 

I picked up some groceries on the way home. I've walked all too much already today. It will be feet up now for sure. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.