JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

An afternoon of Capoeira

Back in March I took some photos for a local Capoeira group. They'd planned a follow-up session with a teacher, and this was the day.
I spent a very enjoyable 3 hours or so watching and listening, as they practised various moves. As it was my second visit, it was easier to anticipate, and I hope that this time I've captured a wider range of useful images for them than I did in March. I'll edit them this week and see.
Here, they're learning to play the berimbau - an Afro-Brazilian instrument. It's all about the group interaction, with Capoeira - both the percussion-based accompaniment, and the play/dance itself. That makes it very absorbing to watch.
In the evening, we had a total change of cultural emphasis - going to hear the Sheffield Oratorio in a local church, with a programme of 3 masses in modern, jazz-influenced musical compositions. A friend sings with the Oratorio, and had told us about it.  The evening was wonderful. When I have time, I'll edit today's entry and include a proper reference to the works involved, which were inspiring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.