Munni

By Munni

Magical Muottas Muragl

Some walks I really want to do every single time I come here. That may sound boring, but for me it’s like visiting old friends. The hike from Pontresina through forest and along the stream to Muottas Muragl is one of them, and it has never disappointed me. 

It’s a three hour walk, going up all the way - sometimes quite steep - for almost 700 metres through several vegetation zones. It is also a little off the beaten track, and apart from the first bit in the village, and the last kilometre, when my path joined a much more popular one, I didn’t encounter any other people. That’s quite rare in the tourist season here.

I did encounter a few mountain hares, though. One was kind enough to pose for me, and on every other day, it would have been my main blip, but I just loved the photo with the two marmots too much.

So the hare is in the extras, along with a scene along the little stream, a collage with a martagon lily, more marmots, (un)moving obstacles on my path - these big Angus cows didn’t budge, so I had to go around them - and my reward at Muottas Muragl, the top of my walk.

The last extra shows the view of the Engadine lakes from there, before I took the funicular railway down.

It was a wonderful walk, once again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.