Munni

By Munni

High Places

If the weather forecast is right, today was the best day of my time here in the Engadine. So I decided to go as high as possible (for me, that is).  

I made my way - partly walking, partly by train - to the Diavolezza cable car. It was packed with mostly elderly Japanese and American tourists, and at least one busload of Indian tourists at the top station. 

But I only had to walk a couple of minutes towards nearby Munt Pers and had the stunning scenery all to myself.

I was at just over 3000 metres above sea level, and the mountains in the main blip are roughly another 1000 metres higher. The three peaks of Piz Palü (in the thumbnail) reach 3900 m, and the highest mountain in the Eastern Alps, Piz Bernina, further to the right, has 4049 m but didn’t show itself today - its peak stayed in the clouds.

I was surprised to find many flowers blooming between the rocks at 3000 m. I also saw a snow vole at Munt Pers, but it was too fast for me to get a picture.

I found a sheltered place for my lunch break, and marveled at the fantastic panorama. 
Back at the station, I had coffee on the terrace. Then the clouds drew in, and it got quite chilly. 

So I took the cable car back down to the valley, and the next train to Alp Grüm, a railway station and restaurant, where I enjoyed coffee, cake, and more splendid views.

The extra collage: The cable car and view from it towards Berninapass; a waterfall on the way to Diavolezza, a cluster of  Primulas and my first coffee break; Glacier Buttercup flowers and the view from Alp Grüm towards Italy in the south.

Because my step count was at only 16.000 today - much less than the last days - I had enough energy left for a swim in the outdoor pool, when I got back to the hotel.

All in all, a perfect holiday Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.