Munni

By Munni

Val Fedoz

I got rudely awakened at 7 A.M. by loud music and the start of a big trail running event just in front of my hotel room. 
As I didn’t see a chance of sleeping anymore, I went for breakfast and took the next bus to the pretty village of Sils-Maria, to follow yesterday’s suggestions of fellow blipper Christophi for a walk up to a hill with this lovely view over Lake Sils towards Maloja. It looks better in large, as usual.

To stretch my legs a bit more, I added a detour into the wild and beautiful valley Val Fedoz, where I enjoyed a picnic break on an island of the little river (first extra). 
Later I walked back on the other side of it, down to the lake (where a herd of goats was resting under the trees - second extra), and back to Sils along its shore. 

My inner botanist had a field day on this walk. I added two more extras with some of the wild flowers I saw, one for the carnivorous and fascinating common butterwort, and a collage of alpenrose (which isn’t really a rose but a species of rhododendron), a bearded bellflower, a marsh orchid, a wild Alpine clematis, an anemone seedhead full of dewdrops, and some spring gentians.

I could easily have added more photos of this lovely walk…

The suggested plan to have a drink at Isola by the lake didn’t work, as the restaurant terrace was already full when I got there. So I walked on to Sils, where I enjoyed a veggie quiche and a glass of wheat beer before taking the bus back to my hotel. 

Here, celebrations for the winners of the “Glacier Marathon” were in full swing when I arrived. Someone managed the 42.2 kilometres, with added 2600 metres of altitude difference, in just under five hours. There are still runners arriving now, after over ten hours. Wow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.