AMK49

By AMK49

Steam locomotive 60103

Much better known as the world famous Flying Scotsman here it is passing through Ladybank station this morning.

A friend phoned me to let me know the Flying Scotsman was coming through Ladybank but was then taking the left fork and heading to Perth, rather than straight on to Dundee, otherwise a few minutes later and I would have seen and heard this famous 100 year old machine from my house.

I couldn’t make it  so she kindly sent me this photo which I can’t claim as my own - I have cropped it a wee bit. 

Just a few days ago there was an interesting programme on TV about the turbulent history of this locomotive, how it was nearly scrapped and how it went to the USA and Australia on tour. I wonder if any of my Australian blip friends witnessed the tour - I know isbiJG is a keen railway enthusiast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.