Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Hot Day, Hotter Band

The local shopping center has launched its summer series of concerts, and it was a rockin' good time today when I paid a visit to my favorite garden shop in search of outdoor candles. It's in the 90's today, so the thought of even a small, fake flame was not appealing, but neither was staying home and washing windows!

I was richly rewarded for my effort. I never did get a candle, butI I could hear the music of a band called Caravanserai (or the base pats of it anyway) a couple of blocks away, and was drawn to it as much as as a blip opportunity as by the thumping base notes of the music.

Since a camera doesn't capture sound, and I am not a good enough photographer to capture the movement, I had to content myself with taking individual portraits. There were tables and chairs, umbrellas and water bottles, food, and lots of people. The music was indeed rockin'. It was difficult not to break into dance and many people were not resisting the urge.

I loved the couple in the background doing serious fox trots and cha cha's--not quite appropriate to the hot music, but probably more sensible on such a hot day. Points to them for following the rhythm. Further along, in front of the band, a dance floor was heaving with people, writhing and jiving vigorously to the infectious music.

A little old lady off to the side in yellow crocs and a pink straw hat threw herself into the music without moving from her spot. A man in a wheel chair, several people dancing in their chairs, and a guy sitting astride a statuary pig were all enjoying the music. There were couples of all ages,--singles dancing alone (or were they?--hard to tell in the throng) and lots of people at the tables moving to the music. The only age not at all represented was the teen set. Perhaps that had something to do with the fact that all the high schools in Santa Rosa had graduation and grad night last night, or more likely the fact that people the age of their parents and grandparents are just unbearably uncool....

Spirits lifted, and smiling to myself, I danced back to the car, and came home to help OilMan empty the small pool so he could clean out an accumulation of bugs and algae. There must be a better way, but being new to pools, we have no idea what it is. I knew it was hopeless to try to lure him back to the music....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.