still trucking...

By johnsmiley1321

Happiness is...

Happiness is feeling well enough to take my camera to work so I could stop by the lake on the way home to see what I could see.. There were some ducks, seagulls, chickadees, sparrows, swallows and... This photo is HIGHLY cropped as the swallows were way out there but I am always happy to at least get a flying swallow "in the viewfinder"...

Some news about my mom.. the medication worked it's wonders and she is feeling much better. Still she will be hospitalized until Wednesday at least before heading back to the nursing home.

I am writing the rest of this stuff down for the record... When my mom fell the second time, broke three ribs and... we thought she might lose the ability to use anything below her neck. We were told most neurosurgeons wouldn't do the surgery my mom needed but there happened to be one of the top ones at this hospital and he told us what he could do - with no guarantee that it would work or help but it was her only option. Through extensive review a decision had to be made though - mom bones weren't likely strong enough to go through the two surgeries she needed so the decision was made to give her the best chance to reuse her hands knowing she would likely live in a wheelchair the rest of her life. This decision was made by my sister and I (power of attorney) as my mom didn't even know what was happening at the time. I hope no one will every have to decide that.

Once she was stable a week after her surgery, we were told she will be sent to a nursing rehab home to continue recovery and start physical therapy. We were given one place that had 4 locations we could send her. The place we chose was the closet to my sister as she is the one that can be there much more than I. My mom wasn't there long before being sent back to the hospital. We have since learned that this place will only do things directly ordered by the doctor. Including checking for bedsores only once a week. Insane in my and my sisters book let alone my mom's sister that is a registered nurse. So while she will head back to the nursing home on Wednesday - my sister is looking frantically to find a place that will actually take care of our mom - despite knowing we will likely have to pay out of pocket for her care. Very expensive care especially if my mom doesn't ever regain the use of at least one hand. The next question will be then... what happens if the money runs out..

Looking forward to spending time with my mom on the 4th of July. I hope those who celebrate the 4th have a wonderful family / friend celebration..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.