What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Had to paddle for this one

I took a walk round the south end of Derwentwater today - despite the appearance of calm water (helped by a big stopper) - it was very blustery.

I spotted this branch from the shore, and thought it would make a good feature with the lake behind, but shooting with a 50mm + focal length from the shore simply didn't make it dominant enough in the foreground.

So, shoes, socks and zip-off legs off, I paddled in through the muddy shallows to get to the branch. a 15mm focal length, with a 0.9 Grad and Big stopper controlled the sky, and gave me a long enough shutter speed to smooth out the water and simplify the textures. Though it did take about 20 minutes of standing in the water before I managed a shot without too much movement in the branches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.