biddy

By biddy

Mary celebrating having her plaster cast removed!

Here is my friend Mary, who several weeks back broke her right knee cap in a fall when on holiday in Poland.
10 days ago she had the plaster cast removed.
Her husband, who had been ill for some years, necessitated a move from their home, which wasn’t far from us, to a one bedroomed retirement apartment which is easier to manage, having a lift, as J could no longer manage stairs. It is rather lovely. He died a few years ago now.
They used to organise their cycling club holidays going across to Northern France for several years.
She did Pilates for 10 years, and is now a member of two different walking groups near to where she now lives.
This year she will be 82 years old. As she said this to myself and two other friends who were visiting her yesterday, “I don’t feel it!”
We more or less simultaneously replied, “Neither do I! “
Then gave us an impromptu demonstration of how well her leg has recovered so far!
I asked her if I could take this photo, and said she would have a piece written about her today.
We were treated royally as ever, to cups of tea and a very yummy Victoria sponge cake topped with strawberries.
We are off up to Knaresborough shortly, about a two hour drive, as my sister is 70 today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.