Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

There was a time...

Twelve years ago, I would have fled for the house if I'd seen this.  I would have thought it was some sort of large, vicious wasp. But that was before Blip opened my eyes to the wonderful world of arthropods and macro photography.  It was one of those things that kind of happened gradually and probably started with the first time I used a macro filter to photograph an itty bitty jumping spider - only to discover that it had the cutest button eyes imaginable.  Macro filters soon morphed into purchasing a legit macro lens ... and I've never looked back.  I love discovering new insects - it rocks my boat.  So, when I saw a new (to me) clearwing moth on the milkweed in my garden, I kind of knew I was going to have to blip it.

Measuring about an inch in length, this is a Squash Vine Borer, Milittia curcurbitae, in the Sesiidae family (clearwing moths).  I don't grow squash, so I have nothing to fear from this beautiful creature although I've learned that they can be quite destructive to both summer and winter squash crops.  Which doesn't diminish my thrill at finding one!  I've put a dorsal view in Extra.

So 12 years here on blip and the only day I missed was my second day.  There have certainly been times in the last few years that I've considered skipping a day, but in a strange way I feel that I'd let myself down if I did that.  Taking a picture every day and recording whatever random thoughts I have gives me a certain discipline.  It's a record of my life, one day at a time.  

And then, of course, there is the Blip community...I'm not even sure where to start on that.  I certainly never imagined the friends I'd make here - real world friends as well as those I may never meet in person but with whom I've shared many things.  I'm actually not even sure how many times I've met up with blippers - let's just say , lots.  I've traveled to amazing places, seen amazing things, had grand adventures all with people I met on the Internet!  Kind of funny when I put it in that context, but most of you know exactly what I mean.  My life is so much richer for all the friendships I've made here - thank you.

I found a new dark today - almonds with a hint of honey.  So that's what I'm having to toast my 4,380th blip.  Cheers!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.